The Executive Head

Hon. Micheal Eleonu Anwuri
Mr. Mike Eleonu Anwuri – Honourable Commissioner of Power

Mr Michael Eleonu Anwuri was born on October 24th 1954 in Ndele, Emohua Local Government Area of Rivers State. Married with three children, Mr Michael Anwuri, is a 1977 Mathematics and Computer Science graduate who obtained his Master of Business Administration (MBA) Finance degree in 1980 and a Post Graduate Diploma degree in Computer Science in 1998 all from the same institution – University of Lagos, Lagos.
With the aim to work in an organization where resourcefulness, integrity and leadership are required at senior Management Level, he has a continuous 25 years working experience in the banking sector specializing in merchant and commercial banking in Nigeria with four financial institutions, which include Union Merchant Bank Limited, Commercial Bank of Africa limited, NAL Merchant Bank Ltd, and International Merchant Bank.
He had an extensive career in lending and transactional activities in a commercial bank and overseeing treasury and banking operations, and the head of division in charge of Credit Department and Corporate Banking Department of a Merchant Bank for a period of 8years … Continue Reading

Mission and Vision


Our mission is to ensure that Rivers State meets its energy needs through a sustainable framework that will support economic growth and provide its citizens with services that meet their expectations.


Our vision is to have a Rivers State where electric power is available, reliable and affordable in every nook and cranny.

Brief History

The Rivers State Ministry of Power came into existence in July 1999. Its foundation can be traced to the former Electricity board which was a product of the then Rivers State Utility Board.

Thus when the Ministry of Power was established by the former Executive Governor of Rivers State Dr. Peter Odili, the resources of the then Electricity Board including Human and materials were transferred to the Ministry. In addition, related skilled/professional units within the state Civil Service were as well transferred to the Ministry. For example, the Electrical Unit of the State Ministry of WorksConsequently, Rivers State became the first State in the Federal Republic of Nigeria to establish a full-fledged Ministry with electricity delivery to its people.

As its major aim, Late Engr. Reginald Wilcox was appointed as Pioneer Commissioner (1999-2003) and Mr I.E.O. Samuel the first Permanent Secretary.The Ministry of Power upon its establishment rolled out a number of short and long term programmes aimed at meeting the electricity needs of the people and as such started and completed some of the following programmes from 1999 till date

  • 75MW Eleme Gas Turbine Power Station is still under construction.
  • 136MW Trans Amadi gas Turbine Power Station – Completed
  • 150MW Omoku Gas Turbine Power Station – Completed
  • 180MW Afam Gas Turbine (Phase 1)
  • 180MW Afam Gas Turbine (Phase 2) is still under Construction
  • 132KV (210km) State Grid Transmission Lines.

The Ministry of Power is the key agency responsible for developing and executing the policies of the Rivers State Government in the electricity Sector.


In pursuance of our vision and mandate, the Ministry has set for itself the following broad policy objectives:

  • To ensure that the state’s investments in the power industry provide value added services to make life better for residents of the state.
  • To provide a new environment that is sufficiently flexible to take into account new trends in the power sector in Nigeria.
  • To ensure that electricity supply is made more reliable and economically efficient so as to effectively support the socioeconomic development of the state.
  • To provide access to sustainable electricity supply in all parts of the state not necessarily through the Grid on the short-run.
  • To establish and meet aggressive targets for a rural electrification program in the State.
  • Finally to create an enabling environment including the provision of incentives that will attract investors into the power sector.


Rivers State Ministry of Power,

14th & 15th Floor,

Wing B, Point Block,

Rivers State Secretariat Complex,

Port-Harcourt, Rivers State,