Prof. Kaniye Ebeku
Prof. Kaniye Ebeku – Hon. Commissioner For Education


To actualize the aspirations of the people of Rivers State for a balanced development and an enhanced quality of life for the present and future generations through responsive governance guided by the fear of God through the responsive governance and quality education.


The New Vision is of a knowledge based society through the provision of quality education.


Following the provisions of the Civil Service Reforms Decree 43 of 1988, and subsequent development the Ministry has the following fourteen (14) Structural Departments, each performing specific functions, with the Honourable Commissioner, Prof. Kaniye S.A. Ebeku, and the Permanent Secretary, Dr (Mrs) Patricia Ogbonnaya, piloting the affairs

Departments and their Heads

S/no Departments Directors
1 Administration Mr. John Bamson
2 Finance & Supply Mr. Innocent Amadi
3 Planning, Research & Statistics Mr. Chucks Oparaolu
4 Secondary Education Mrs. Mae Solomon
5 Primary/Teacher Education Mr. N.J. Mekele
6 Basic Science Dr. (Mrs) Ngeribara
7 Inspection – Nursery/Primary Mrs. Gloria Woulu
8 Inspection – Secondary Mr. Sam Wigwe
9 Examination Mr. Agbara
10 Records Mrs. Data Cookey
11 Women & Special Education Mrs. Sokari Braide
12 Higher Education Mr. L. Obomanu
13 Special Duties Mr. Wike Godwin O.
14 Early Childhood Care Dev. Edu. Mrs. Ibiso West