The Executive

The Executive Council, also known as the Governor’s Cabinet is the highest administrative decision-making authority in Rivers State. It is part of the executive branch which is the most influential branch of the state government.

It comprises of the Governor, Deputy Governor, Secretary to the State Government, Chief of Staff, Commissioners and Special Advisers. All of its members excluding the Deputy Governor are appointed by the Governor of Rivers State and confirmed by the House of the Assembly of the state.

The Executive Council is responsible for advising and assisting the Chief Executive in the performance of his or her official duties. Individuals who have been appointed to serve in the Council may also be dismissed or reappointed (to other posts) at will.

Executive Council Members

S/n Name Position
1 His Excellency Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, CON Governor of Rivers State
2 Her Excellency Dr. Mrs Ipalibo Harry Banigo Deputy Governor of Rivers State
3 Barr. Rufus Godwin Head of Service
4 Chief Kenneth Kobani Secretary to the State Government
5 Hon. Chukwuemeka Woke Chief of Staff
6 Hon. Dr. Austin Tam-George Commissioner For Information/Communication
7 Hon. Emmanuel .C. Aguma Commissioner For Justice
8 Hon. Dr. Fred Kpakol Commissioner For Finance
9 Hon. Emma .I. Okah Commissioner For Housing
10 Hon. Onimim Jacks Commissioner For Agriculture
11 Hon. Herbert Miller Damiete Commissioner For Social Welfare
12 Hon. Micheal Anwuri Commissioner For Power
13 Hon. Prof. Roseline Konya Commissioner For Environment
14 Hon. Rodaford Longjohn Commissioner For Local Government Affairs
15 Hon. Barr. Mrs. Ukel Oyaghiri Commissioner For Women Affairs
16 Hon. Harrison Bathuel Iheanyichukwu Commissioner For Works
17 Hon. Boma Iyaye Commissioner For Sports
18 Hon. Deacon Akie Dagogo Fubara Commissioner For Transport
19 Hon. Barr. Onyezonwu Monday Commissioner For Special Duties I
20 Hon. Onowu, Chukwuemeka Commissioner For Special Duties II
21 Hon. Isaac Kamalu, ESQ. Commissioner For Budget/Economic Planning
22 Hon Chief Ibibia Walter Commissioner For Water Resources
23 Hon. Chukwu Shedrach .O. Commissioner For Energy/Natural Resources
24 Hon. Princewill Ogbobula Commissioner For Youths
25 Hon. Prince Dr. John Bazia Commissioner For Chieftaincy And Community Affairs
26 Hon. Mrs. Tonye .B. Oniyide Commissioner For Culture And Tourism
27 Hon. Dr. Odagme .M. Iyenebari Theophilus Commissioner For Health
28 Hon. Prof. Kaniye Ebeku Commissioner For Education
29 Hon. Chief Ephraim Nwuzi Commissioner For Employment/Empowerment
30 Hon. Bright .O. Jacob Commissioner For Commerce And Industry
31 Hon. Chinyere Igwe Commissioner For Urban Development
29 Hon. Chief Ephraim Nwuzi Commissioner For Employment/Empowerment